Dropbox bug brings deleted files back to life

Dive Brief:
 

  • Dropbox accidently restored old files users thought they had deleted, raising concerns that a hack had potentially occurred at the file sharing company. Some users said the deleted files reappeared years after they had deleted them.
  • The company attributed the problem to a bug that prevented some files from being deleted from their servers completely.
  • According to a Dropbox employee dubbed Ross S. who responded to customer concerns on the Dropbox forum, “while fixing the bug, we inadvertently restored the impacted files and folders to those users’ accounts. This was our mistake; it wasn’t due to a third party and you weren’t hacked.”

 
Dive Insight:
 
In an age of heightened privacy concerns, no user wants the files they thought were permanently deleted coming back to life. And companies that assure a user’s privacy is maintained don’t want to be…
 
Read the entire article from CIODIVE here: Dropbox bug brings deleted files back to life

 



If you liked the post, please share:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *